我们是谁

中国与东亚研究学会(CEAS,以下简称为“学会”)为研究和讨论当代中国、东亚和世界问题提供了一个开放的学术平台。学会吸引并鼓励对这一地区感兴趣且背景各异的人士参与活动,努力调动学术和社会资源,以包容的眼光促进有关中国和东亚的学术活动发展。作为日内瓦高级国际关系与发展研究院(IHEID)第一个专注于东亚地区的学生社团,学会响应了学生群体中日益增长的需求,即在当代背景下理解东亚与世界其他地区的关系。我们推崇建设性的对话,并致力于成为一个包容性的思想交流渠道。

我们的任务

学会的长期愿景是发展成为欧洲范围内致力于东亚研究的前沿学生协会。学会的宗旨与日内瓦高级国际关系与发展研究院的使命理念相呼应 —— 促进学术交流,并使研究成果向更广泛的社会传播。于此同时,学会为来自世界各地的学生提供了一个中立的学术平台,为他们提供交流、沟通、分析中国和东亚的政治、经济、社会发展及其对国际社会的影响的机会。通过这种方式,学会将成为不同思想、观点和文化间的桥梁,并建立起理解、信任和友谊。

为此,中心定期组织研讨会、举办公开讲座,并邀请研究人员作研究报告。它积极回应学生群体的兴趣,探讨研究与东亚有关的前沿问题。例如,2020年11月,学会邀请了一位研究中美关系的著名学者,讲述美国大选对东亚地区可能带来的影响。在日内瓦和平周期间,学会促成了一场关于亚洲维和行动的讨论,并与两位东亚领域的专家进行了互动。为庆祝2021农历新年,学会静心设计了一系列集娱乐性与学术性于一体的主题活动,为学生群体创造了一次了解东亚文化与传统的机会。此外,学会还希望每年举办一次中国论坛,邀请顶尖专家学者共同探讨中国与世界其他地区关系的最新发展趋势。

​我们的理事会成员

Alma.png

Alma 陈维佳

​主席

     “我在广州长大,在香港读书的那些日子逐渐塑造并打磨了我的人格。渴望走遍地球的每一个角落的我,作为一个漫游世界的背包客,疫情爆发之前我的足迹最远曾抵达南美大陆。如今,我钟情于通过背景各异的人们的视角继续我的旅程—在CEAS,你能结识一群神奇的伙伴,并领略他们身后广袤而多彩的世界。”

我们的使命与愿景

765A1384_edited.jpg

Who we are

The China and East Asia Studies (CEAS) Initiative provides an open academic platform for research and debate on contemporary issues about China, East Asia and the world. Engaging people from all backgrounds interested in this region, CEAS strives to mobilize academic and social resources to facilitate academic activities concerning China and East Asia from an inclusive perspective. As the first student initiative focusing on the East Asia region at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies (IHEID), CEAS responds to the increasing demand among the student body to make sense of the relationship between East Asia and the rest of the world in the contemporary context. We have a strong faith in constructive dialogues and we are committed to serving as an inclusive channel for ideas exchange.

What we do

The long-term vision of CEAS is to develop into the forefront of student research associations of East Asian studies in Europe. CEAS’ operation complements the mission of the Graduate Institute of Geneva–– to promote academic exchange and to enable its research findings to reach out to the wider community. Meanwhile, CEAS maintains an unbiased academic platform for students from all around the world and gives them chances to exchange, communicate and analyze political, economic, and social developments of China and East Asia and their consequences for the international community. By doing so, CEAS acts as a bridge of different ideas, perspectives and cultures to build understanding, trust and friendship.

 

To this end, CEAS organizes seminars and workshops, holds public talks, and invites research presentations on a regular basis. It actively responds to the interests of the student body and addresses frontier issues related to East Asia. For example, in November 2020, CEAS invited a prominent scholar on US-China relationship to talk about the implications of the US election to the region. During the Geneva Peace Week, CEAS enabled an engaging discussion on Peacekeeping in Asia with two experts on the region. To celebrate the Lunar New Year in 2021 and 2022, CEAS designed a series of thematic events, which are both recreational and meaningful, to provide an opportunity for the student body to get to know the culture and traditions of East Asia. In fall 2021, CEAS also organized the first Geneva Forum on East Asia in 2021 to bring together renowned scholars and experts to discuss trends in the relationships between East Asia and the world.

Our Board Members

Andy.JPG

Andreas Oeschger

President

"I'm a second year MIA student from Switzerland, particularly interested in political economy. East Asia has always been a fascinating region full of puzzling contrasts to me. But not only have East Asian countries managed to maintain these contrasts, but moreover to thrive on them. Now, at a time when tensions are rising and the role of East Asia in the world is particularly causing great uncertainty in the West, I would like CEAS to contribute to a better academic understanding of this region and to constructively build bridges between East Asia and the rest of the world for more dialogue and cooperation."

The mission & vision of CEAS